IFAD Member States

Membership in IFAD is open to any State that is a member of the United Nations, any of its specialized agencies or the International Atomic Energy Agency.

The Fund's 176 Member States are classified as follows:

  • List A (primarily OECD members);
  • List B (primarily OPEC members);
  • and List C (developing countries). 
  • List C is further divided into sub-list C1 (countries in Africa); sub-list C2 (countries in Europe, Asia and the Pacific); and sub-list C3 (countries in Latin America and the Caribbean).

The Governing Council is IFAD's highest decision-making authority. Each Member State is represented in the Governing Council by a Governors, Alternate Governors and any other designated advisers. 

The Executive Board is responsible for overseeing the general operations of IFAD and for approving its programme of work. Membership on the Executive Board is determined by the Governing Council and is presently distributed as follows:

  • List A: eight Members and eight Alternate Members;
  • List B: four Members and four Alternate Members; 
  • and List C: six Members and six Alternate Members; two each in the three regional subdivisions of List C Member States.

(source: IFAD)